Sunday, May 22, 2016

Fallow deer

The fallow deer (Nama Nama) is a ruminant deer species native to Western Eurasia and has been introduced to several countries such as South Africa, Fernado Po, Sao Tome, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte, Reunion, Seychelles, Comoro islands, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Cyprus, Cape Verde, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Britain, Ireland, United States, Falklands, Uruguay, and Peru. The fallow deer is one of the 4 nonnative introduced species in Britain and Ireland along with the sika deer, Reeves's muntjac, and water deer. The reintroduced species of Britain are the Eurasian elk and reindeer. Although, one of its subspecies, the Persian fallow deer, is endangered. The only extant native species are the red and roe deer. The extinct species of Britain and Ireland is the Irish elk. Deer are only native to all continents besides Australia and Antarctica. They have also been introduced to Rhode island. The word fallow means "Pale brown color". They are the only deer species to have spots on their back although other deer species have spots including fawns.

No comments:

Post a Comment